Graduates choose military as post-secondary option

thelegend76's picture

Seventeen Carrollton High School students have committed to a military career as their post-secondary option, the largest class of CHS students in recent years who elected to serve their country following graduation.

CHS principal David Brooks said technical school and college are appropriate preparation grounds for many students before they enter the workforce, but the military is another way young adults can transition to good careers.

“While we don’t recruit for the branches of service, we want to make sure students are exposed to the option,” said Brooks. “Traditional college isn’t for everyone. Technical school is a good option, and has been promoted as such. But so is the military. We want to make sure our graduates make the best choice based on their personal situations.”

One student is headed to a prestigious U.S. military academy, three will serve in the Air Force, four each are headed to the Army, Navy and Marines, and one student will serve in the Army National Guard.

Tucker Sippola has been accepted to the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. Three Air Force Junior ROTC cadets, Breanna Alexander, Abrie’l Murphy and Mikel Watson, will join the Air Force. Four students are headed to the Army: Chris Day, Amadai Dejan, Jaquise Lawson and Breylan Waters. Edwin Marroquin will become a part of the Army National Guard. Marines recruits are Josh Hill, Edwin Perez, Donnovan Reese and Levi Rider. Xavier Barnwell, Alexander Brewer, Conner Hill and Maddie Willingham are joining the Navy.

Brooks expressed a high level of respect for the students who choose to go into the military after they graduate.

“We do a good job of recognizing students who have advanced their academic career through athletic and academic scholarships,” he said. “We feel it's equally important to recognize those students who have chosen to serve their country after high school.”


Seventeen soon-to-be Carrollton High School graduates have committed to enter the military following their high school career. Seated, from left, are Alexander Brewer, Chris Day, Maddie Willingham, Breanna Alexander, Abrie’l Murphy, Jaquise Lawson and Mikel Watson. Standing are Amadai Dejan, Donnovan Reese, Edwin Perez, Levi Rider, Josh Hill, Tucker Sippola, Edwin Marroquin, Breylan Waters, Conner Hill and Xavier Barnwell.